wow, times flies!!

so much for blogging every day.  To be honest, there is a reason I haven’t been back here in a while.  God has been shaking up my world, but I’ll write about that in another post.  Today is all about catching up on the farm.  I noticed my last post was when I lost my first hen…oh, the innocence of those days!!  Some time in March we had a huge massacre, where I lost 15 chickens, including my 3 beautiful black cochin roos!  I was devastated!  In April, while we were in Florida, we lost 2 more hens to something trying to pull them through the fence.  I had Brian go buy a rifle, which he was glad to do!! 🙂 I bought 9 new hens from a farmer, and 10 baby chicks from TSC.  I also put in an order for 28 new babies that arrived in June.  My mom’s dog killed 3 of my chickens in one day, and I just lost another baby to some unknown reason…I guess the point of all this, is to show that I must be a real farmer now! I’ve had to deal with a lot of loss of my chooks!  But, time to rebuild…I now have 64 chickens, including 2 beautiful roosters named Lenny and Squiggy that I hatched in February.

The fruits and veggies are doing great.  I had a nice harvest of strawberries and made lots of jam, tomatoes look beautiful and just need to ripen up.  Picked gorgeous eggplant, zucchini, onions, etc…just need some good recipes…

The farm is running well, I thank the Lord for allowing me to have it.  I’m really excited for August to get here because I signed up for a Master Gardener class from Purdue….we’ll see how it goes.

I realize this is a really generic post…but I’m working up to the next one…may come later today.

Have a glorious day!!

Leave a Reply

