…down on the farm

I’m still waiting for the gentle whisper…it’s been almost 8 weeks (tomorrow) of Brian not having a job….we’re still waiting.  I really don’t want to talk about that now.  I want to talk about the homestead.  I spent all of yesterday going over seed catalogs.  Choosing just the right variety of plant for the Gilgal Homestead Garden Cooperative for planting season 2011.  I can’t begin to tell you how excited I am to be starting this!!  I’ve decided on 61 plants we will be planting, this doesn’t include my asparagus, strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, grapes, fruit trees….  I know!! I’m going crazy!!  But I love, love, love it!  Enough already with all the exclamation points!!!

As of right now, I have 7 members of my co-op.  I think this is about all I will take for my first year.  It’s going to be a busy one, with adding pigs too.  Yes, you heard me right, I’m adding 2 pigs for meat to the mix.  I’ve been working on fall clean up and planning for next year.  My garlic came in, so I also need to plant that.  But things are moving forward.  It’s a good distraction to the craziness of life.  I will also try to update more as it goes.  Brian thinks I need to write a book of my adventures, but maybe I’ll just put it in my blog….hmmm, we’ll see.

Happy Farming!

Leave a Reply

